Dune wins Academy Award for Best Sound

Dune Wins Best Sound 2022
Dune Wins Best Sound 2022

Massive congratulations to the sound team on Dune on their Academy Award for Best Sound.

A big point of conversation this year was the decision to not televise some of the technical awards which are presented in filmmaking. Dune won a number of these including Best Cinematography, Best Film Editing, Best Original Score, Best Sound, Best Production Design, and Best Visual Effects.

Dune won the most awards of the night, but most of them were not televised. The awards show awarded these before the show started.

The televised Oscars ceremony may have snubbed some of the most vital awards to filmmaking, but the sound community certainly doesn’t. Congratulations to the sound team for their incredible contributions to the film it would not be the experience it was without you!

Dune Sound Team

Davi Aquino … foley recordist
David Bach … dialogue editor
Phil Barrie … lead sound effects editor
Ron Bartlett … re-recording mixer
Eric Basta … sound effects recordist
Chelsea Body … foley recordist
Christopher Bonis … foley editor
Charlie Campagna … Sound Effects Recordist
Benjamin Darier … adr mixer (as SNK Studios)
Robert Eklund … adr recordist
Russell Farmarco … additional dialogue editor
Sandra Fox … foley artist
Lee Gilmore … sound effects editor
Theo Green … sound designer / supervising sound editor
Áron Havasi … first assistant sound
Jack Heeren … foley mixer
Doug Hemphill … re-recording mixer
Chris Howland … additional sound mixer
Robert Jackson … additional dialogue editor (as Robert C. Jackson)
Gareth John … sound mixer: additional photography
Bob Kellough … sound effects editor
Goro Koyama … foley artist
Donnie Little … engineering support
Andy Malcolm … foley artist
Mark A. Mangini … supervising sound editor
György Mihályi … boom operator
Piero Mura … sound effects editor
Ryan Murphy … stage engineer
Chris Navarro … adr mixer
Thomas J. O’Connell … ADR mixer
Tony Pilkington … stage engineer
Mark Purcell … re-recording mix technician: Warner Bros
Márton Péntek … first assistant sound: second unit
Mac Ruth … sound mixer
Kevin Schultz … foley recording mixer
Carlos Solis … international re-recording mixer
Unsun Song … re-recording mix technician: Warner Bros
Brian Tarlecki … re-recording mix technician
Greg ten Bosch … sound effects editor
Levente Udud … second assistant sound: second unit
Balazs Varga … production sound mixer: second unit
Don White … foley recording mixer
Dave Whitehead … sound designer
Dani Connor Wild … red squirrel sound recording provided by
Eliza Zolnai … second assistant sound

congratulations to all involved – here’s hoping that next year, the Oscars reconsider this move and celebrate sound for the importance it has in the filmmaking process.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *